Why the need for Sensing Seamus?

Hello world.  I am a mom of a child who just turned 6 years old. He has autism.  For the purposes of my blog I will call him Seamus and I am his mom Mazey.  Why the blog?  Why now after 6 years of coping with his autism?  The reason is that for the first time in 6 years I can breathe. I can smile with ease.  I can think.  I have graduated.  College was 4 years, and this was 6 and man I earned my stripes this time around.

The purpose of this blog is to round up all those who are out there who are suffering like I was just a few years ago, who are overwhelmed, who can’t see themselves making it through another day.  I want to tell you about our story and maybe our journey may mirror yours, and you will not feel as alone as I felt.  I will share what I know and I hope others will comment so we will have a collection of information for all parents and care givers and frankly anyone who cares.

Seamus is now 6 so I have a lot of catching up to do.  I will share stories from the past as well as share happenings of the here and now.  Please share your thoughts. 

Tomorrow we are visiting a developmental pediatrician in Bethesda MD who comes very highly recommended – Dr. Charles Conlon.  We of course hope he lives up to the praise he receives.  We are going for a consultation on medication which is a hard topic for any  parent.  I will let you know how this goes.

In the meantime, check out this article about the similarities in symptoms of mom’s with kids with autism and combat soldiers.  From my experience, it was long overdue to see that validated. http://www.disabilityscoop.com/2009/11/10/autism-moms-stress/6121/

Later

Mazey

<!– Start of StatCounter Code –>
<script type=”text/javascript”>
var sc_project=6551886;
var sc_invisible=1;
var sc_security=”e1da3d22″;
</script>

<script type=”text/javascript”
src=”

About mazeyshea

A mom of a child with autism.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

